Vinegar is made from alcohol

The verdict on vinegar made from alcohol

Praise be to Allah ..

First:

If the alcohol turns into vinegar without any treatment, then there is no disagreement that it is permissible to use (and consume) this alcohol-derived vinegar. The same is true when it is moved from a sunny to a shady place, or vice versa, according to the majority of scholars.

The Prophet - peace and blessings of Allah be upon him - has already confirmed that he ate vinegar and praised him. Thus, Muslim (2052) narrated about Jabir Ibn 'Abdillah - may Allah be pleased with both - that the Prophet - peace and blessings of Allah be upon him - asked his family for a meal (for bread), whereupon they said that they had nothing but Vinegar. Thereupon he said: "What a beautiful fruit vinegar is, what a beautiful fruit vinegar is."

And if the alcohol is treated until it becomes vinegar by adding vinegar, onions or salt to it, or lighting a fire to make vinegar, then this type of treatment is, according to the stronger opinion, forbidden. And this is the view of the Shafi'ites, Hanbalites and is represented in a tradition by Malik.

“The Hanafis say, and this is (also) the stronger opinion among the Malikites, that it is permissible to make alcohol into vinegar and to drink and eat this vinegar, since the Prophet - peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him - said:" What beautiful food is vinegar. ”And this applies absolutely (and generally) without distinguishing whether it is a synthetic production of vinegar or whether the alcohol has become vinegar in a natural way.

And because the production of vinegar makes the harmful (i.e. the alcohol) disappear and keeps the useful / healthy. Because vinegar is good for healing treatments, nutrition and has other advantages. And when the harmful thing that makes the thing forbidden disappears, then it will be allowed, just as it is in natural production.

And since the artificial production of vinegar improves the product, it is permissible, as an analogy to allowing leather to be tanned. "

From “Al-Mausu'ah Al-Fiqhiyah” (19/260).

See also: "Al-Fiqh Al-Islami wa Adillatuhu" (4/2629).

The proof of the prohibition of the artificial production of vinegar is the Hadith of Ahmad (12189) and Abu Dawud (3675), in which Anas Ibn Malik reported that Abu Talhah asked the Prophet - peace and blessings of Allah be upon him - about orphans who Have inherited alcohol, to which he said, "Spill it." He then asked, "Shouldn't we make vinegar out of it?" The Prophet then replied, "No."

Al-Albani classified this hadith as authentic in "Saheeh Abi Dawud".

An-Nawawi -may Allah have mercy on him- said:

Sub-chapter: on the views of scholars on the natural and synthetic production of vinegar. If it (alcohol) turns into vinegar naturally, then according to the majority of scholars it is pure. Al-Qadi 'Abdul-Wahhab Al-Maliki narrated the consensus of scholars on this point. Others narrated through Sahnun Al-Maliki that he was unclean.

But if it is made into vinegar through external influence, by adding something to it, then in our opinion (i.e. that of the Shafi'ites) it is not pure. And that was the opinion of Ahmad and most of them.

Abu Hanifah, Al-Auza'i and Al-Laith, on the other hand, said it was pure.

And there are three traditions about Malik. The most authentic is that the production of vinegar, by outside influence, is forbidden. And if you convert it to vinegar (anyway), then it's pure. The second view is that it is forbidden and that the vinegar is unclean. And the third view is that it is allowed and the vinegar is pure. "

From "Al-Majmu" (2/596).

Shaykh Muhammad Al-Mukhtar Ash-Shinqit said in "Sharh Zad Al-Mustaqni":

“The majority of scholars say that when the vinegar is naturally formed, it is lawful and pure. Because the Prophet - peace and blessings of Allah be upon him - said in an authentic hadith: "What a beautiful food the vinegar is." And vinegar can only become vinegar after it has been alcohol. And that is what is meant by it, namely that it arises naturally. The proof that vinegar is allowed when it is naturally produced is the Hadith of Abu Talhah - may Allah be pleased with it - when he asked the Prophet - peace and blessings of Allah be upon him - about the alcohol of the orphans for the Prophet - peace and blessings of Allah be upon him - ordered him to spill the alcohol. So if it were allowed to manufacture the alcohol in a synthetic way, then the Prophet - peace and blessings of Allah be upon him - would not have ordered him to spill it. Thus, this proves that the owner of alcohol is not allowed to make vinegar from it himself, but if it becomes vinegar in a natural way, then it is allowed and therefore pure. "

Secondly:

If treatment turns alcohol into vinegar, is the alcohol pure and the vinegar from this prohibited treatment permitted?

There is a disagreement on this, and the views closest to the truth are two:

First: It (the alcohol) is pure and the vinegar is permitted because a large part of it is not intoxicating (if one were to ingest this).

Second, it is pure and the vinegar is permitted if the synthetic production is done by someone who believes alcohol is permitted. Thus, the vinegar treated by the Scripture owners (Jews and Christians) would be legal.

Shaykh Ibn Uthaimin - may Allah have mercy on him - said:
"His statement:" If it is processed into vinegar ", the pronoun here goes back to" alcohol ". Converting it into vinegar in a synthetic way is done by adding something to the alcohol that makes the intoxicating disappear in it, or doing something with it / performing a process that makes the intoxicating disappear.

In the school of law (the Hanabilah) it is known that if it is processed in vinegar, it is not pure, even if the intoxicating is removed.

You are citing here as proof that the intoxicant disappears through something that is forbidden and so this effect of it (that it no longer intoxicates) does not matter. Because the synthetic production of vinegar is not allowed, according to the evidence in which Anas reported that the Prophet - peace and blessings of Allah be upon him - was asked whether one could convert alcohol into vinegar. Whereupon he said "no". And since the synthetic production of vinegar is an act that is not commanded by Allah or His Messenger, it is wrong and is rejected. The effect of this (that it is no longer intoxicating) does not matter, just as the Prophet - peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him - said: "Anyone who does something that is not in our business will be rejected."

Some scholars have said that although the act itself is forbidden, it is pure and thereby permissible.

They argued that the cause of the impurity (of the alcohol) is that it is intoxicating. The intoxicating, however, has disappeared, whereby it is (thus) allowed.

Others said: If someone synthetically makes the vinegar who believes that alcohol is legal, like the scripture owners (Jews and Christians), then it (the vinegar) is legal and pure. And if someone does it for whom alcohol is not allowed, it is forbidden and unclean. And this is the view that is closest to the truth.

Accordingly, the vinegar is permitted and pure by the Jews and Christians, because they do this because they are convinced that alcohol is permitted, and therefore they are not forbidden to drink alcohol. "

From "Asch-Sharh Al-Mumti" (1/432).

Based on this, the alcohol-derived vinegar that Christians make in Europe and elsewhere is allowed for consumption.

Third:

Religion is good advice (nasihah). And he who gives advice to his brother should be kind and pay attention to the conditions of those with whom he speaks. Whenever there is goodness (in a thing), it (goodness) beautifies it. And whenever it (goodness) wanes on a thing, it distorts the thing.

Knowledge is an extensive area. It may be that someone knows one thing but has no knowledge of other things.

The matter of making vinegar from alcohol is an ancient and well-known matter that has been judged by the general public. So there is nothing new in this regard.

And, as mentioned earlier, the scholars disagreed on this. So you will find one who says that this vinegar is absolutely allowed, the other says that it is absolutely forbidden and the next one again differentiates and allows what comes from the owner of the script, but not from the Muslim.

And Allah knows best.